1. South Africa

South Africa

South Africa won their first and only major ICC Trophy in the year 1998 in the form of ICC Knockout. In the inaugural season Protease defeated West Indies cricket team by 4 wickets in the final. Batting first, with the courtesy of opener Philo Wallace's 103 knock West Indies raise a 246 runs target. On reply, South Africa won the match and title by 4 wickets with 18 balls remaining. Hansie Cronje added 61 runs to the score card. While Jacques Kallis won the Man of the Match reward in the final for his 5 wickets and 37 runs.

2. New Zealand

New Zealand

This time it was the opportunity of the ill-fated Kiwis. In the 2000 ICC Knock Out Championship New Zealand thrashed Indian team in a nail biting final thriller. Captain Stephen Flemming, after winning the toss sent the Men in Blue to bat first. Sourav Ganguly was exceptional throughout the series for India. His 117 performance along with Sachin Tendulkar's 69 added 264 runs to the scorecard. On reply, Anil Kumble and Venkatesh Prasad assaulted Kiwi top order batsmen's. But Chris Cairns single handedly led the team to success with his 102 runs. Nathan Astle and Chris Harris had a decent outing in the match. 

3. Sri Lanka and India

Sri Lanka and India

Sri Lanka and India shared the 2002 Champions Trophy. Both the teams were in excellent form throughout the series with no defeats in the cart. In the final Sri Lanka batted first and raised a 245 runs target. But while Indian openers batting at 14 runs rain effected the match. The match was rescheduled be played on the reserve day. Sri Lanka batted one more time and raised a 223 runs target for Men in Blue. But the match was again upshot with rain and eventually the final resulted in a draw.

4. West Indies

West Indies

After a total dominance in the tournament West Indies and England faced off in the 2004 ICC Champions Trophy finals. Batting first, England team faced some tough challenges from West Indies pacers. Wavell Hinds and Ian Bradshaw thrashed in form England batsmen's. A stiff 104 runs performance from the opener Marcus Trescothick helped the team to reach an average 217 total. On reply, West Indies witnessed a never before performance from the tail enders. They were in a 147/8 position with in form Shivnarine Chanderpaul sent to the gallery. But Ian Bradshaw and Courtney Browne added a 71 runs partnership for the 10th wicket and won the match with 7 balls remaining.

5. Australia


Australia won their maiden ICC Champions Trophy in the year 2006. After a decent group stage and semi final performance, Punter squad faced West Indies in the finals. Batting first, West Indies barsmens were seen struggling against Australian pacers. They lost all their wickets at just 138 runs. The total was altered to 116 from 35 overs due to rain. Shane Watson's 57 runs performance from 88 balls made the success a cakewalk. Eventually, Watson was awarded with Man of the Match for his 2 wickets and the batting knock. The entire series had lot of controversies, including misbehavior of Australian players to Sharad Powar in the  Award Ceremony.

6. Australia


Australia once again secured the ICC Champions Trophy tournament in the year 2009. This time New Zealand was the opponents in the finals. Batting first, New Zealand faced a quick collapse in their batting order. They lost all their wickets at 200 runs. On chasing the 201 runs target  Australia lost their captain Ricky Ponting and Tim Paine at just 6 runs. But Shane Watson joined with Cameron White and built a match winning partnership. Watson added 1 runs and White scored 62 runs. The match favored the Australia for 6 wickets and Watson awarded with Man of the Match.

7. India


India won the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy. The tournament has witnessed biggest setbacks in the group stage with the elimination of defending champions Australia and dominators New Zealand. India had a decent outing season without a loss. Their final opponents, England had to face a defeat in the group stage. In the rain effected match, the overs were limited to  overs per side. India were able to add just 127 runs to the score card. But excellent bowling performances limited England to cross the target. India succeeded the match by 5 runs.

8. Pakistan


While aiming for their third, India faced a setback in the final against Pakistan. Batting first, Pakistan built a mammoth target of 339 for team India. Fakhar Zaman's 117 along with Azhar Ali, Mohammad Hafeez's half century helped the team to reach total. On reply, Pakistan bowlers thrashed Indian in form batsmen's and limited the total to 158 making a perfect revenge for the group stage loss and won their maiden tournament.


You may also like

Facebook Conversations