The Complete List of Awards Handed Out After IPL 2018 Final

1. Champions


Run for the supreme title ended at Chennai Super Kings. The yellow army added 3rd to their cart. They once again dominated over Sun Risers in the final. Toss won, MS Dhoni elected to field first. Sun Risers, after a slow struggling start, raised up from the hands of captain Kane Williamson and Yusuf Pathan. With a decent cameo from Carlos Brathwaite in the end, Sun Risers put up a decent 179 target for Dhoni boys. But Shane Watson had some reserved batting knocks for the finals. The Australian all rounder's unbeaten 117 guided the Chennai to success.

2. Orange Cap

Orange Cap

Kane Williamson, Sun Risers skipper had a crucial role in guiding his team to the finals. His excellent batting performance rewarded him the Orange cap. Williamson added 735 runs to the team's score card and proved he is the perfect replacement for the ex-captain David Warner. The Kiwi captain had an average of 52.50. He blasted 63 fours and 28 sixes with a strike rate of 142.44. Delhi's top order batsmen, Rishabh Pant had 684 runs in the season.

3. Purple Cap

Purple Cap

The limited overs specialist, Andrew Tye won the Purple Cap award of the 2018 IPL season. He was exceptional for Kings XI Punjab. Although they failed to excel from the league stage, Tye was rewarded with well deserved award. He took 24 wickets from 14 matches with 3 four wicket performances. The IPL once again witnessed a wicket domination from a fast bowler.

4. Maximum Sixes Award

Maximum Sixes Award

Although IPL 2018 had some big hitters, young Rishabh Pant was brilliant in hitting balls over the boundary line. From his limited 14 matches, Pant blasted 37 maximums. He was also exceptional in boundary hitting with 68 fours, Delhi top order batsmen tops in this criteria also.  Although Delhi failed make into the final four, the left hander showcased his performances with consistency. 

5. Most Valuable Player

Most Valuable Player

Being a full time bowler for Kolkata Knight Riders in the previous seasons, Sunil Narine became the vital part of Kolkata's all round department. His retain was worth for Shahrukh boys. He played 16 matches for the team and scored 357 runs and was furious batsmen in the opening department. Narine took 17 wickets from the bowling side and was economical by giving an average 7.66 in the season.

6. Player of the Match(Final)

Player of the Match(Final)

Shane Watson, whom  had a decent outings for Chennai this season made a serious knock in the final clash. His 117 runs on chasing the 179 target was crucial for Chennai's victory. After losing his partner Faf du Plessis in the initial stage, Watto joined with Suresh Raina and Ambati Rayudu to hunt the win. The Australian all rounder blasted 11 fours and 8 sixes. He took just 57 balls and had a 205.26 strike rate to blast 117 runs.

7. Emerging Player of the Year

Emerging Player of the Year

Delhi's 20-year old wicket keeping batsmen, Rishabh Pant was awarded with a well deserved emerging player of the year. He was exceptional in the Delhi's top order. After the completion of League stage matches, this youngster had orange cap, but Kane Williamson retained it with the advantage of 3 more matches.  In his 14 matches, Pant scored 684 runs. Along with batting performance, he was a decent performer behind the stumps. Pant made 20 dismissals behind the stumps with 15 catches and 5 stumping. 

8. Fair Play Award

Fair Play Award

Former Champions, Mumbai Indians won the Fair Play Award of IPL 2018. The team was eliminated in the league stage and was exceptional in maintaining the game spirit. The team was led by Rohit Sharma who is another face of calmness.

9. Perfect Catch of the Season

Perfect Catch of the Season

Delhi Daredevils pacer, Trent Boult won the perfect catch of the IPL season 2018. In his match against Royal Challengers Bangalore, he caught the catch of skipper Virat Kohli from Harshal Patel's ball. The catch was caught in the boundary line and literally assaulted Kohli's maximum. AB de Villiers, Hardik Pandya and Sanju Samson were the notable contenders for the award.


You may also like

Facebook Conversations