IPL Maximum Sixes Award Winners from 2008-2018

1. Sanath Jayasurya(2008)

Sanath Jayasurya(2008)

Sri Lankan aggressive opener won the Most Sixes award in the first IPL season. He was part of Mumbai Indians team. Out of 14 matches played he blasted 31 sixes. From 13 innings, he scored 494 runs at an average of  44.90. He had a strike rate of 165.77 and he was the top scorer for Mumbai Indian's in that season. His 114 from 48 balls against Chennai Super Kings is the highest score for him in the season. Although the Mumbai failed to make the semi finals,  Jayasurya was star of the inaugural season. Shaun Marsh was in the second place with 26 sixes.

2. Adam Gilchrist(2009)

Adam Gilchrist(2009)

Australian wicket keeper batsmen, Adam Gilchrist blasted 29 sixes in the 2nd edition of IPL. He was the captain of title winning Deccan Chargers, for that year. Out of 16 matches,he scored 495 runs at an average of 52.00 with a strike rate of 152.81. 85 was his highest score in the season. He had 4 fifties and 54 fours in his cart, in that season. His domestic team partner Matthew Hayden of Chennai Super Kings was in the second place with 22 sixes.

3. Robin Uthappa(2010)

Robin Uthappa(2010)

Robin Uthappa became the  first Indian to win the Maximum Sixes Award. He was part of Royal Challengers Team that year. He smashed 27 maximum's in that year from 16 matches. Out of 14 innings's he scored 374 runs with the courtesy of 4 fifties. 65* was his highest score and had an Strike rate of 171.55. Anil Kumble led RCB finished 3rd in the season. Murali Vijay of Chennai Super Kings was in the 2nd place with 26 sixes.

4. Chris Gayle(2011)

Chris Gayle(2011)

Chris Gayle was the Maximum sixes award winner of 4th edition of the IPL.  He smashed 44 biggies, which broke all the maximum records in the IPL history. He was considered as the run machine for RCB. Other than this, he won 2 more awards in the season. Orange cap for highest run in a season of 606, Most Valuable Players award for his contributions to the team. He played 12 matches at a strike rate of  183.13 and an amazing average of 67.55. 107 was his highest score in the season. 2 hundreds and 3 fifties were part of the season.

5. Chris Gayle(2012)

Chris Gayle(2012)

Chris Gayle continued his calypso in the next season too. In the 5th season Gayle became too dangerous than the previous. He broke his own record of 44 sixes and blasted 59 maximum's.  He again regained his orange cap with 733 runs from 15 matches. His highest score in the season was 128* against Delhi Daredevils. He had an average of 61.08 and  a strike rate of 160.74. Other than 44 sixes, he smashed 46 fours in the season. 47% of his total score in the score came from the sixes. Kevin Pietersen was in the 2nd rank with 20 sixes.

6. Chris Gayle(2013)

Chris Gayle(2013)

Gayle storm continued for the 3rd consecutive time. In the 6th edition of IPL Gayle smashed 51 sixes and became the Maximum sixes award winner. In the same year he scored 175* against Pune Warriors India, which is highest score in the IPL history.  Out of 16 matches he scored 708 runs at an average of 59.00. His strike rate was 156.29 in the year. He scored 4 fifties and a hundred in the season. Kieron Pollard was second in the list with 29 sixes.

7. Glenn Maxxwell(2014)

Glenn Maxxwell(2014)

After 3 years dominance from Chris Gayle on the Maximum Sixes Award, Australian middle order batsmen Glenn Maxxwell secured the award in 7th season. He blasted 36 sixes from 16 matches. He scored 552 runs at an average of 34.50, and 95 is his highest score in the season. He had an highest strike rate of 187.75 in the entire season. Chennai Superkings star player Dwayne Smith was in 2nd position with 36 sixes.

8. Chris Gayle(2015)

Chris Gayle(2015)

Chris Gayle regained his Maximum Sixes Award in the 8th season of IPL. He blasted 38 sixes in the season. Out of 14 matches played, he scored 491 runs at an average of 40.91. Gayle's 117 runs from 57 balls was his highest run in the season. He had an strike rate of 147.44 in the season. He also smashed 39 fours in the season. This was the 4th time Gayle was granted with Maximum sixes award. His team mate Kieron Pollard was in the 2nd place with 28 sixes.

9. Virat Kohli(2016)

Virat Kohli(2016)

Virat Kohli became the 2nd Indian to achieve this award. He had an amazing form in that season. He blasted 38 sixes from 16 matches and helped RCB to reach finals. He scored 973 runs in the season and became the first IPL player to cross 900 runs in a single IPL edition. 113 was his highest score in the season and had an average of 81.08. His tournament strike rate was 152.03. He was also awarded with orange cap and most valuable player in the season. AB de Villiers was behind Kohli with 37 sixes.

10. Glenn Maxxwell(2017)

Glenn Maxxwell(2017)

Glenn Maxxwell was the owner of Maximum sixes award last year. He blasted 26 sixes and tied with David Warner. But Maxxwell was awarded, because he had the longest six in the season.  Out of 13 matches played, he scored 310 runs at an average of 31.00. 47 was his highest score in the season. Although Punjab didn't entered the final four, Glenn Maxxwell was an asset for the team. Behind Warner and Maxxwell, youngster Rishabh Pant was in the list.

11. Rishabh Pant(2018)

Rishabh Pant(2018)

Although IPL 2018 had some big hitters, young Rishabh Pant was brilliant in hitting balls over the boundary line. From his limited 14 matches, Pant blasted 37 maximums. He was also exceptional in boundary hitting with 68 fours, Delhi top order batsmen tops in this criteria also.  Although Delhi failed make into the final four, the left hander showcased


You may also like

Facebook Conversations