t20I World Cup Man of the Match Winners- Final

1. Irfan Pathan(2007)

Irfan Pathan(2007)

Irfan Pathan's contribution in the India - Pakistan 2007 t20I World Cup finals was impressive. Although the all rounder was not able to contribute big in the batting order, he took 3 important wickets in the Pakistan Batting line up. First he took the wicket of Shoaib Malik who was seen struggling in the batting order. Shahid Afridi, who is dangerous in this format was caught by Pathan's ball. Later he took Yasir Arafat's wicket. He conceded only 16 runs and was seen economic in the match.

2. Shahid Afridi(2009)

Shahid Afridi(2009)

In the 2009 t20I World Cup, Afridi was brilliant with bat and ball. Batting first Sri Lanka were able to add only 138 runs to the score card. Afridi conceded only 20 runs in his 4 overs and took a wicket. In the batting side also, Afridi was brilliant. He scored an unbeaten 54 runs from 40 balls, which was an important winning knock from him. His innings included 2 fours and 2 sixes.

3. Craig Kieswetter(2010)

Craig Kieswetter(2010)

Kieswetter's 63 from 49 in the t20I World Cup final against Australia, made him player of the match. The opener was impressive in chasing the target of 148 raised by Australia. He smashed 7 fours and 2 sixes. He had a strike rate of 128.57 in the match. He was also part of an important run out of David Hussey who was seen in good form.

4. Marlon Samuels(2012)

Marlon Samuels(2012)

In the West Indies - Sri Lanka final at Colombo in the 2012 t20I World Cup, West Indies won their maiden tournament. Marlon Samuels was impressive with the bat and ball. He scored 78 runs from 56 balls which was key for building 138 runs target. West Indies were able to defend the low score with amazing performances from the bowlers.Especially, Samuels conceded only 15 runs in his 4 overs. Also he took one wicket for West Indies. With his all round performance Samuels awarded the Player of the Match title.

5. Kumar Sangakkara(2014)

Kumar Sangakkara(2014)

Kumar Sangakkara won the Player of the Match in 2014 t20I World Cup finals. In the match against India, Sri Lankan bowlers were success in restricting the Indian batsmen's to 130 runs. On reply, Sri Lanka's top order failed to create an impression in the match. Later, Sangakkara scored an unbeaten 52 runs from 35 balls and favored the match for Sri Lanka. 

6. Marlon Samuels(2016)

Marlon Samuels(2016)

Marlon Samuels was scored an unbeaten 85 from 66 balls in the 2016 t20I World Cup final against England. He is the only player to cross 50 runs mark for West Indies team in the match. His innings included 9 fours and 2 sixes.


You may also like

Facebook Conversations